Serving Opportunities

Room In The Inn

riti2018

Our current outreach is with Room In The Inn. During the winter months, we provide meals, clothing, a warm place to sleep, and hospitality for our brothers and sisters experiencing homelessness. You can donate items from the Room In The Inn wish list and drop them off at the church.

  • Children's Ministry

    Are you interested in serving the children in our church? Opportunities range from leading Sunday School to greeting families at our Connection Point desk. All volunteers go through a background check and Safe Sanctuary training before being paired with students.

    Contact Ellen Garrett at egarrett@bumc.net to learn more.

    Current Volunteer Needs

    It’s beginning to look a lot like Advent (almost)! BUMC Kids is hosting the annual Family Advent Festival on November 30, and they want your help to make the season special for our families!

    Contact Megan Teegarden at mteegarden@bumc.net to volunteer.

  • Congregational Care

    Share Christian love with our friends and neighbors in need of care. Serving opportunities include:

    • Altar Flower Ministry
    • Funeral Ministry
    • GraceNotes Writers
    • Intercessory Prayer Team
    • Orphan, Foster & Adoption Ministry
    • Stephen Ministers
    • Visitation Ministers

  • Missional Discipleship

    We have a number of ways you can serve in the church, around Greater Nashville, and around the world through Missional Discipleship. Below you can learn more about our mission partners.

    Contact Lisa Edge at ledge@bumc.net to learn how you can get involved.

    Local Outreach

    Seasonal Outreach

    • Spring
      • OFAM Easter Baskets
      • Rise Against Hunger
    • Summer
      • Project Transformation
      • Build a Backpack
      • Harvest Hands Summer Camp
    • Fall
      • Housing Initiative
      • Room In The Inn
    • Winter
      • Room In The Inn
      • AIDS Angel Tree
      • Christmas food baskets
      • Alternative Gift Giving
      • The Manger of GraceWorks
      • Harvest Hands Christmas Store
      • Restock the Pantry

    International Outreach

    • South Africa Outreach
    • Middle East North Africa Initiative (MENA)
    • Give Ye Them To Eat (Mexico)
    • Hands of Christ (Honduras)

  • South Africa Outreach

    In 2007, Brentwood UMC funded the construction of a church building in the Tumbleweed community of South Africa. This initial relationship grew into a ministry that now connects sponsors to children and teachers in three different South African schools. At each of our partner schools, children receive a God-centered educational foundation, as well as emotional and spiritual intervention and care. We're currently recruiting sponsors for the 2020 South African school year.

    Contact Stephanie Smith at ssmith@bumc.net to learn more.

  • Student Ministry

    Are you interested in serving the young people in our church? Opportunities range from serving meals to serving our small groups. All volunteers go through a background check and Safe Sanctuary training before being paired with students.

    Contact Rev. Adam Jones at ajones@bumc.net to learn more.

  • Welcome Ministry

    Christ calls us to love God and to love our neighbor, and this means living and worshiping in community together. If you have a gift for hospitality or love meeting and welcoming new people, we encourage you to join our Welcome Team.

    Contact Rev. Shelby Slowey at sslowey@bumc.net to learn more.

  • Worship + Arts

    There are many ways you can use your spiritual gifts to serve God through Worship + Arts. We have opportunities to volunteer on Sundays, during the week, on a weekly basis, or as your schedule allows.

    Contact Haley Durham at hdurham@bumc.net to learn more.

    • Acolyte coordinators
    • Communion servers
    • Communion set-up and clean-up
    • Ushers
    • Pew replenishers
    • Scripture readers
    • Altar Guild